November 30, 2022 – Ps 6, Pr 27, Isa 61

One who is full loathes honey from the comb, but to the hungry even what is bitter tastes sweet.
Proverbs 27:7 NIV

The life most Americans live leaves us filling full. Full in so many ways. Full of food, love, connections.  But there are those who are always left feeling hunger. Hunger for food, hunger for peace, hunger for connection, hunger for love. Makes me think of people who stay in a bad relationship that they know is bad. It is bitter but when they are so hungry for relationship even the bitter relationship is sweeter than no relationship. Someone who grew up always worrying about money that has found a way to make money at a job they hate or that takes advantage of him will chose to stay in that job because the bitter work is better than no work. The examples could go on. This makes me think of yesterday’s post. Sometimes we need to trust God in our hunger and not settle for the bitter food.

The crucible for silver and the furnace for gold, but people are tested by their praise.
Proverbs 27:21 NIV

If you were to be tested by your praise, would it hold up to the fire of the furnace? Would it be able to rest in the crucible of God’s presence and come out purified?

1 thought on “November 30, 2022 – Ps 6, Pr 27, Isa 61

  1. “The crucible for silver and the furnace for gold, but people are tested by their praise.
    Proverbs 27:21 NIV

    If you were to be tested by your praise, would it hold up to the fire of the furnace? Would it be able to rest in the crucible of God’s presence and come out purified?”

    Great question and one yo which I pray helps me increase in praise. Although I feel I am a positive person, there are times when I let things of this world take me down or have me being negative with words and actions. Praise is the answer to filling our hearts so there is no room for the other.

    Lord hear my prayer and my praise.

    Psalm 6

    2 Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am faint;
    heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.
    3 My soul is in deep anguish.
    How long, Lord, how long?

    6 I am worn out from my groaning.
    All night long I flood my bed with weeping
    and drench my couch with tears.
    7 My eyes grow weak with sorrow;
    they fail because of all my foes.

    The above versus resonate with me a bit as Wednesday night and yesterday, I battled an extremely painful migraine, extreme nausea and other body aches, which started in the middle of the night and went throughout the entire day.

    However, what resonates with me more than anything with these is the fact that, although I was in tremendous pain, I did not have fear and anxiousnes.

    This is a huge difference from my painful physical battles of the past. This is a beautiful example of his love, his faithfulness, his provision and his peace.

    I prayed for relief. I knew it would come. I also knew that I could withstand the length of time I would be hurting because of my faith in His promises.

    Today has brought me new mercies, and I thank Jesus for that.

    Isaiah 61
    61 The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.
    He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners,
    2 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor
    and the day of vengeance of our God,
    to comfort all who mourn,
    3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion

    Lord help me do all that you ask. ❤️🙏

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *