September 17, 2022 – Ps 86, Pr 15, Isa 1

“Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the Lord. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.
Isaiah 1:18 NIV

God voices Him complaint against Judah and tells them all they are doing wrong but He does not want them to have to suffer the consequences of that sin. He wants there to be a way out and here He tells them that there is a plan but he doesn’t tell them what the plan is. Of course we know that it is Jesus. I love the picture this scripture paints for us.

 

1 thought on “September 17, 2022 – Ps 86, Pr 15, Isa 1

  1. Psalm 86

    11 Teach me your way, Lord,
    that I may rely on your faithfulness;
    give me an undivided heart,
    that I may fear your name.
    12 I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your name forever.
    13 For great is your love toward me;
    you have delivered me from the depths,
    from the realm of the dead.

    HERE I AM LORD.

    Isaiah 1

    3 The ox knows its master,
    the donkey its owner’s manger,
    but Israel does not know,
    my people do not understand.”

    What a comparison. Humans to 2 dumb animals. And it makes so much sense…ox and donkey listen and know their masters, but so many of us question His existence or claim to know God and do not do what is expected.

    5 Why should you be beaten anymore?
    Why do you persist in rebellion?
    Your whole head is injured,
    your whole heart afflicted.
    6 From the sole of your foot to the top of your head there is no soundness- only wounds and welts and open sores, not cleansed or bandaged
    or soothed with olive oil.

    Trial after trial, so many wounds both of spirit and of body, yet we still do not listen, we still try to ignore His love and continue taking a beating in this life rather than take refuge in His grace.

    13 Stop bringing meaningless offerings!

    That’s pretty simple. No works will do, bring only your heart.

    15 When you spread out your hands in prayer, I hide my eyes from you;
    even when you offer many prayers, I am not listening. Your hands are full of blood!
    16 Wash and make yourselves clean.
    Take your evil deeds out of my sight;
    stop doing wrong.
    17 Learn to do right; seek justice.
    Defend the oppressed.
    Take up the cause of the fatherless;
    plead the case of the widow.

    So simple…….

    31 The mighty man will become tinder and his work a spark;
    both will burn together, with no one to quench the fire.”

    Works with not replace faith for entrance into glory. We must Love God and live within the boundary of His faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *