September 18, 2022 – Ps 87. Pr 16, Isa 2

To humans belong the plans of the heart, but from the Lord comes the proper answer of the tongue. All a person’s ways seem pure to them, but motives are weighed by the Lord.
Proverbs 16:1‭-‬2 NIV

A couple of days ago during a time of stress at work I was testy with a coworker. Then yesterday when I had to relay a message he didn’t like he was testy with me. I asked him not to yell at me and was going to say that I did not make this decision. But he interrupted and commented on my reaction the day before. I immediately changed from my intended explanation to a defense of my actions that he commented on. Afterwards I thought about how poorly I handled that. This morning when I woke and said my morning prayer which includes. Guide my thoughts , words and actions that I may say or do something that will bring someone closer to You. But today I added help me to remember this prayer and be aware of the opportunities you give me to do so. Then immediately I thought about this coworker. I thought I need to apologize to him. I want people to see Christ in me and I was not very Christ like. He is also a Christian and I thought I would tell him all that. Then I wondered if he would be convicted of his words. So then my motivation began to change as I thought about what I should say. It became more about me. Then I started my bible reading and saw many verses that spoke to this situation in proverbs 16 starting with this verse.

First I confessed to God. Now I need to apologize to my coworker. And instead of allowing my own plans of the heart and motivations to influence what I say, I will trust the Lord to give me the proper answer of the tongue and ask Him to create inme a clean heart and renew a steadfast spirit within me. (Another great verse Ps 51:10)

 

2 thoughts on “September 18, 2022 – Ps 87. Pr 16, Isa 2

  1. Psalm 87:7

    7 As they make music they will sing,
    “All my fountains are in you.”

    Commentary:
    “the church, in which are the word and ordinances, compared to fountains of living water, and are springs of spiritual peace and refreshment to converted persons; see where also the Spirit and his graces are communicated by the ministry of the word and ordinances in the church, which are signified by wells and rivers of living water, and particularly here stands Christ, the fountain of gardens, and well of living waters, for the supply and comfort of saints, and his blood a fountain opened for cleansing and purification, yea, here flows the river of God’s love, the streams whereof make glad the city of God; and which, like the waters in Ezekiel’s vision, come from under the threshold of the sanctuary.”

    My devotions over the last couple of days have led me to the “ministry of the word” on several accounts and the order of the church.

    I find this interesting that God is speaking to me in this way, as our church is going through transitions and I search for a way to get the word to more people, and to keep my group that I hold on Wednesday nights stayed in the word, as well.

    More commentary:
    “all my springs or fountains are in thee;
    the fulness of grace dwells in him, the springs of all joy, and peace, and comfort, are with him; the wells of salvation are in him, and both grace and glory are from him; he is the spring of all grace now, and the fountain of all happiness hereafter. Gussetius F26 has a very peculiar version of the whole text, which he renders thus

    “all my fountains will be singing in thee, or of thee, as those that dance at the sound of the pipe:” taking the allusion to be to the playing of fountains in gardens, and to the delightful sound the waters make; but the accents will not admit of such a sense.”

    This is why I am drawn to water when in nature, and that we all are drawn to the renewing, not just through baptism, but in our every day simple lives.

    When we jump into a cool pool, go boating on a river, stand by the shores of any pond, stream, river or ocean. It brings us calmness, just to hear the sound of the waves, hitting the shore, the sound of a waterfall dancing on the water when it connects.

    The sound of water brings us peace just as the living waters from Jesus and the quenching of our thirst each time we open the book of life.

    Bluebible:
    So the psalmist says, reckoning the springs from which his dry soul must be watered to lie in the sanctuary, in the word and ordinances, and in the communion of saints. The springs of the joy of a carnal worldling lie in wealth and pleasure; but the springs of the joy of a gracious soul lie in the word of God and prayer. Christ is the true temple; all our springs are in him, and from him all our streams flow. It pleased the Father, and all believers are well pleased with it too, that in him should all fulness dwell.“

    Proverbs 16:3
    Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.

    Amen

    ISA 2:22
    “Stop trusting in mere humans, who have but a breath in their nostrils. Why hold them in esteem?”

    God again speaking to me as I find myself going to him more and more and reaching out less. As I was being continually disappointed by church members and had to battle issues with regards to whether I wanted to continue with this church family or start searching for another.

    I like to think my relationship with Him has recently gone deeper, as I go to Him more and more in prayer to resolve issues and work out my future plans, and less to others.

    He has granted me a peaceful heart…full of forgiveness and love for others, no matter the circumstances. His promises and my faith have granted me the perseverance I needed.

    Thank you Jesus for pulling me even closer and listening and talking with me.

    Where are we going next, my Lord?????

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *